Science for Life Laboratory

Science for Life Laboratory (SciLifeLab) is a Swedish national centre for molecular biosciences that offers frontline technical expertise in translational medicine and molecular biosciences through platforms equipped with advanced technologies.

Researchers from all of Sweden can use both the technology and the know-how that is present at the platforms at SciLifeLab and typically only pay for reagents and other consumables. Users from commercial companies pay the actual costs of the analyses performed.

SciLifeLab was established in 2010 with support from the Swedish government and was assigned to be a national resource 2013. SciLifeLab is a collaboration between four universities: Karolinska Institutet, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm University and Uppsala University.

Uppsala Genome Center has been part of the SciLifeLab infrastructure since 2010.